The Invisible

< Previous / Next >


The Invisible are comprised of Dave Okumu (singer / guitarist), Tom Herbert (bass / synthesiser) and Leo Taylor (drums). 

Their third album 'Patience' was released in June 2016 and features collaborations with Jessie Ware, Anna Calvi, Rosie Lowe, Connan Mockasin and Sam Shepherd (Floating Points). ‘Patience’ has received overwhelmingly positive album reviews across the board including a lead 5/5 review in The Guardian, 4 star reviews in The Observer and Q magazine, Sunday Times ‘album of the week’, Mixmag ‘album of the month’ and Metro ’the big release.

Their eponymous debut, was nominated for the 2009 Mercury Music Prize was also critics’ choice as iTunes album of the year.  It won peer level praise from the likes of Radiohead's Ed O'Brien, Foals, Hot Chip, Wild Beasts, Anna Calvi and Everything Everything.  

Their second album, 'Rispah', was, in the words of Okumu, "a love letter to grief.” Mid-way through recording a follow-up to their debut, Okumu’s mother passed away and the band’s plans and aesthetic were thrown into turmoil. As Okumu remembers it, “I couldn't engage with music for a long period." The reception of the album was further complicated when Okumu was electrocuted while playing onstage in Lagos, Nigeria, which set back promotional and live activities while he recovered — it’s possible that his life was only saved because Tom removed the guitar from his hands. It’s certain that it was a hugely dangerous incident which he was lucky to survive. The album was, though, rapturously received, this “remarkable” record (The Times) being described as “an astonishing redemptive arc brighter than any rainbow” (Mojo) and “incredibly uplifting and moving” (Vice), amongst many other superlatives. 

The same year, Okumu became known for his production skills when the album he had overseen and written with Jessie Ware, “Devotion,” was a huge hit (and was nominated for a Mercury itself). But then this has never been a band who are content to focus on just one thing. Before 'Rispah' even came out their credits included playing as a member of British post-jazz legends Polar Bear (Herbert) and drumming on much of Adele's world-crushing second album 21 (Taylor). They have also played live and recorded with a dizzying roll call of musicians that runs from St Vincent in the Tom Waits tribute 'Rain Dogs Revisited', the Britten Symphonia, Jack DeJohnette, Roots Manuva, Jamie Woon, Hot Chip, Zongamin, Gramme and many others.  

In the last two years alone, the whole band has played on the Adele smash 'Sweetest Devotion' (from her all-time fastest selling album, '25') plus Liane La Havas’ 'Unstoppable'. Tom and Leo, in fact, were responsible for drum and bass on Adele’s 'Skyfall'! In addition, Dave continued to feature as a co-writer/producer on Jessie Ware’s second album 'Tough Love'  as well as the blockbuster '50 Shades of Grey Soundtrack'. 

More recently Dave co-wrote and produced Rosie Lowe's debut album 'Control' released in February 2016 through Wolftone/Polydor and continues his work as producer and writer with Grace Jones, Anna Calvi, Paloma Faith, Kwabs, Lilly Wood and Eska, amongst a number of artists. Dave and Tom collaborated on the 'In Dreams: David Lynch Revisited’ project, as well as taking part in a performance of 'Double Fantasy' or Yoko Ono’s stint as curator of the Meltdown festival, closely followed by Beck's Song Reader project at the Barbican. Dave also acted as musical director for The Gil Scott-Heron Project for Convergence Festival at the Roundhouse in March 2016. As if all that wasn’t quite enough, Leo and Dave toured with the Floating Points band this year. 

< Previous / Next >