Tom Herbert

< Previous / Next >


Tom Herbert is a bass player in Mercury Music Prize nominated bands The Invisible and Polar Bear, as well as vocal/double bass duo Moats & Thrones. He was also was a founding member of the British jazz-punk band Acoustic Ladyland (BBC Jazz Awards Best Band 2005 and featured on BBC2’s Later…with Jools Holland).

The Invisible have released three albums and are currently signed to Ninja Tune. Their self-titled debut album was released in 2009, produced by innovative electronic musician Matthew Herbert, it was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize and was the 'iTunes Critics Choice Album Of The Year'. Their third album 'Patience' was released in June 2016 to critical acclaim, including a five-star review in The Guardian.

Influential British electro-acoustic jazz group Polar Bear released their sixth album 'Same as You' (Leaf Label) in 2016. They have been nominated twice for the prestigious Mercury Music Prize, first in 2005 for their second album 'Held on the Tips of Fingers' (also named one of The Observer Music Monthly's '100 Albums That Changed The World') and again in 2014 for their fifth album 'In Each And Everyone'.

Moat & Thrones are due to release their debut EP this year.

In 2014 Tom produced the album 'Under the Moon' by London-based band Blue-Eyed Hawk. 

Tom studied at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London where he completed a four-year degree in jazz and classical double-bass. 

Tom has also performed and recorded with a wide range of musicians including Paolo Nutini, Jessie Ware, Frank Ocean, Adele (on the James Bond Theme 'Skyfall'), Lianne La Havas, Beck, St Vincent, Cibo Matto, Yoko Ono, Roots Manuva, King Sunny Ade, Paul Motian, Roisin Murphy, Ghostpoet, Portico Quartet, Finn Peters’ Finntet (BBC Jazz Awards Best Band 2007) and on the theme and soundtrack to the cult BBC comedy League of Gentleman.

Tom is currently on the teaching staff at The Royal Academy of Music.


Press Images

< Previous / Next >